Some V-Day thoughts
Alright, so I have been asked to share some of my V-Day thoughts on the blog. I must first state my thoughts on relationships in general. It's not that I don't think relationships are a good thing, it's just that I find most people in relationships rather annoying. Not the people individually, but once you put them together, it's like the overwhelming force of mushiness and other gag-worthy emotions that I try and stay far away from. Now, don't get me wrong, there are some couples that I find truly enjoyable and really like to spend time with. Alright, maybe I'm exaggerating a little bit about finding all relationships annoying. Maybe I'm still stuck in the realm of high school relationships where every couple I saw made me want to gag myself with a spoon. Who knows. But I think what gets me the most is the away messages/profiles of those in relationships, or those people that are just plain lame. PEOPLE, AIM IN NOT A PLACE TO HAVE AN INTIMATE CONVERSATION WITH SOMEONE. This idea works in two fold: 1) no mushy "I love you I have the best boy/girlfriend in the world mwuah mwuah kiss kiss what would I do without you" away messages. sick. remember, the rest of us have to read your puke-worthy professions of love, so please, spare the gag-reflex...2) if you're mad at someone, TELL THEM...don't paste an indirect "I hate it when people are mad at you and they won't tell you and then they give you the silent treatment and I can't believe you would hurt me like this blah blah blah..." You get the picture. So please people, leave us something funny or insightful or ANYTHING besides the nonsensical blabber that is typical of away messages. And I apologize if I am offending anyone who participates in this type of activity, but maybe it's time someone told you what's really up with your lame-o away messages.
So I guess I have strayed from my original topic of Valentine's Day. I guess I have no overly negative feelings towards V-Day, although I do usually make gag noises whenever anyone mentions it. I've only officially celebrated two V-Days myself, and both of them were pretty fun. So here's the verdict: if you're in a relationship, go out to dinner, maybe exchange small gifts or something...nothing over-the-top, but thoughtful, and enjoy the evening. But please spare us that are still part of the single club and refrain from telling us every mushy detail from your romantic night out. And if you're single, go out with friends. You can still spend the day with people you love, just not The Love. I think I'm gonna ask Karen to be my valentine. Don't tell her though, it's a surprise.
T-Rex
Keep it real.

1 Comments:
Tara,
I came across this,and I just have one thing to say; you are hilarious.
Julia
Post a Comment
<< Home